top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKynala Phillips

Whipped Shea Butter for Lovers and Friends


Shea butter is my favorite. I use it on my face, hair, skin #unameit.

When I was younger there was one lonely container of shea butter in our house. No one new how to use it. It was incredibly hard and therefore, no one used it. After a couple year, shea butter reappeared in my life. It wasn't my favorite scent but it helped my entire body stay unbelievably moisturized. Eventually, I started to purchase whipped shea butter from a local beauty supply store and that's when I fell in love--except my wallet wasn't having it. Shea butter and many other natural products are not cheap. So, instead of spending so much money on buying a whipped Shea butter with extra ingredients I may not be familiar with, I decided to start whipping it myself. Whipping your own Shea butter is extremely fun and cost efficient. Most of the materials needed to accomplish your perfect butter are probably already in your home. The best part of creating your own products, is experimenting with different oils and measurements. I tend to make each batch of my Shea butter differently. However, here is one of my favorite recipes:

What you will need:

Electric Mixer

Large Bowl

Shea Butter (16oz) - Doesn't matter if it's white or yellow

Coconut Oil (1/4 cup)

Jamaican Black Caster Oil (2 Tbsp)

Avocado Oil (1Tbsp)

You're Favorite Essential Oil (1-2 Tsp)

(keep in mind you can use any oils you want, these are just my favorites)

Directions:

1. If you Shea butter is really hard, you can start by microwaving it (in a microwave safe container).

2. Put the Shea butter in a large mixing bowl

3. Add all of your oils

4. Mix away.

5. Check the consistency and the scent. Add oils as needed. However, try to be light handed.

6. If you want to be bougie about it, find a cute container for the mixture.

Notes:

There are so many ways you can alter this recipe. Coconut, Avocado and Jamaican Black Castor oil work the best for my skin and hair, hence why I use them for my recipe. Please play around with using your favorite oils and customizing this recipe for yourself. It will be worth it! After you've tried mixing Shea butter, you can also use the same recipe with other butters, such as mango butter and avocado butter.


15 views0 comments
bottom of page